textwrap

running words around
design education and visual communication
authored by chris m hughes

Sign Out Forever

Thursday, 14 January 2010

Committ Web 2.0 Suicide

I can't be the only person out there who has a social networking account that I don't really use, which continually bugs me with friend adding and other forms of virtual intrusion, and which I wish I'd never signed up to.

And as you'll know if you have tried to cancel a Facebook account, all you can do is disable it. And they keep the data.

But of course anything cultural that moves into the mainstream eventually faces a backlash or a counter-revolution, and its finally arrived for social networking, courtesy of the Web 2.0 Suicide Machine.

This piece of software, developed by a Dutch agency, lets you delete all your social-networking profiles, effectively killing off your Web 2.0 alterego. The service currently runs with Facebook, Myspace, Twitter and LinkedIn.

The website design is funky too. They've gone all-out with the Web 2.0 visuals (circa 2008), with a glossy 3D logo, big font sizes, a reflected logotype and some nice lightbox effects. The site also has a great list of 'social suiciders', detailing the date on which they signed out forever, and how many friends they lost. To round off the concept they include a great little video showing the software in action.







Not surprisingly, Facebook are a bit upset by all of this and have reportedly
blocked the Web 2.0 Suicide Machine IP address. We'll see how long that obstacle lasts.

I guess the next development will be for those suicides who wish to reverse their decision. The guys at Suicide Machine are claiming there is no way back, but they are probably already working on Web 2.0 Resurrection.